Pink Triangle Committee

Pink Triangle Committee

Fighting for safer and more inclusive workplaces

This committee promotes safe workplaces by offering solutions to fight homophobia, transphobia and other forms of discrimination against 2SLGBTQIA+ workers everywhere.

The Committee helps develop awareness-raising courses and materials, connects 2SLGBTQIA+ union members through participation in annual Pride and other human rights events, promotes genders and sexualities alliances in B.C. schools, and advocates for more support to seniors who are Two Spirit, lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, and beyond.

Pride in ourselves, pride in our union

The Committee’s work has helped encourage more 2SLGBTQIA+ members to participate at all levels of our union—and beyond, through the committee’s affiliation with the BC Federation of Labour’s 2SLGBTQA+ Caucus.

As well as supporting locals in promoting Pride events, committee members participate in the International Day Against Homophobia (May 17) and the Transgender Day of Remembrance (November 20). They have also promoted inclusive language by producing a Glossary of Terms booklet on 2SLGBTQIA+ terminology and encouraging locals to use such terms as “friends”, “folk”, “members”, or “siblings” instead of “Brothers/Sisters”.

2023 – 2025 Committee Membership

Back row: Dan Gawthrop (Communications Advisor), Leslie Hilder (Recording Secretary), Page DeWolfe, Kate Sullivan, Tabatha Ikonomou, Cody Wilson, Shamus Halvorsen & Sarah Cibart (Staff Advisor). Front row: Claire O’Sullivan, Hailey Fielden (Co-Chair), Joyce Griffiths (Chair), Stevie Poling, Vivian Oosthoek. Missing: Sophie Bennett & Zoey Froemgen.

Committee Members

Diversity Vice-President, Pink Triangle
Joyce Griffiths
Hailey Fielden
Alternate Diversity Vice-President, Pink Triangle