CUPE BC’s Political Action Committee provides members with information about political choices and encourages them to participate in the political process. The committee also organizes training sessions and ensures CUPE BC’s voice is heard by elected bodies at all levels.

The committee is examining new ways to reach out to members and mobilize voters. With land line phone numbers quickly becoming a thing of past, CUPE BC is seeking innovative solutions to managing data and refining electronic communications. However, old tried and true techniques still work best - getting out the vote door-to-door, member to member.

CUPE members also live in the communities they work in, and care about all their neighbours affected by local government decisions. Everything from environmental sustainability, to compassionate housing policy, to zoning that impacts the local economy, CUPE members know that getting involved in elections is crucial in building strong communities.

Interested in getting involved? Contact the committee at


Committee members

Denice Bardua
Local 4990
Steven Beasley
Local 2396
Daljinder Gill
Local 2950
Dave Ginter
President, Local 561
Stephanie Goudie
Regional Vice President North, Local 2403, CUPE BC Executive Board
Deborah Hopper
Local 1858
Frank Lee
Diversity Vice President Representing Persons with Disabilities, Local 1004
Sylvia Lindgren
Councillor, Local 523
Marcel Marsolais
Local 409
Michael Muller
Local 2020
Tracey O'Hara
Local 411
Lisa Paine
Local 3570
Sophia Parkinson
Local 873
Sharon Prescott
Staff advisor, Local Staff-Retired
Clay Suddaby
Communications advisor, Local Staff-BCRO/Div
Deb Tomlinson
Local 338
Michelle Waite
General Vice President, Local 3479, CUPE BC Executive Board