CUPE BC’s Indigenous Workers Committee was established to provide information, awareness and education to Indigenous CUPE members within the province, and the CUPE BC executive and membership as a whole.

To promote awareness of our issues we support events, plan gatherings and bring forward resolutions to the annual CUPE BC convention. For a number of years we have supported National Aboriginal Day (June 21) at Oppenheimer Park, Aboriginal Veteran’s Day (November 8) in Vancouver, and various Idle No More events across B.C.

We continue to work with the Provincial and National CUPE executive boards to include awareness training in all education materials and to ensure that we recognize and acknowledge all Aboriginal Nations on whose territory we reside.

Committee members

Deea Bailey
Local 1936
Cynthia Bosdet
Local 4879
Jeanette Burdeniuk
Local 4177
Johnathan Dyer
Local 391
Luke George
Local 3479
Lisa Gregory
Local 561
Mitch Guitard
Staff advisor, Local Staff-BC
Danica Hansen-Hughes
Alternate Diversity Vice President Indigenous Workers, Local 1260, CUPE BC Executive Board
Haley Irwin
Local 4653
Michael Lupo
Local 1004
Liza McKay
Local 2052
Debra Merrier
Diversity Vice President Indigenous Workers, Local 728, CUPE BC Executive Board
Shelley Saje Ricci
Local 728
Jeffery Stanley
Local 2298
Charmaine Surman
Local 411